Teaser first chapter for Immoral Meridian

This is a work in progress. It is subject to change.

Chapter One – Fate

     Mathias reached to his waist. He retrieved his coin purse, untied it, and emptied the contents into his hand. Two copper coins and rain droplets landed in his hand. He sighed. He hadn’t eaten in the last two days. The two coins, like the day before, weren’t going to buy him anything. His stomach growled. Great.

     He was going to have to steal something to eat again, and his options were growing thin since he was caught just last week pinching some bread and apples. The merchants down on the market had tossed him out and were looking out for him. Maybe those silly soldiers on the edge of town wouldn’t have their guard up since they weren’t looking for him. It was risky, but worth it.

     Mathias made his way down the street, ducking between corners and alleyways. Down on the edge of town were some tents in the middle of a dirt field that had become muddy during the downpour. Once inside the field he ducked inside a tent and on the table saw just what he wanted: food. On the table was a bit of bread and pork. He could taste it already. Mathias took a bite out of the pork, and it tasted like a slice of heaven. The bread he stuffed into his coin purse and cinched it as he tied it about his waist. He took another bite of the pork and then someone slipped in through the tent flap.

     “Eh, who are you?”

     Mathias looked up, his eyes gaping wide. One of the soldiers had returned, probably for the meal that he was chewing down on.

     “Hey there,” Mathias half mumbled as he chewed.

     The soldier looked down at the table, and then back up to Mathias. “You eatin’ my food? Are you eatin’ my food, you brat?”

     Mathias looked down at the pork, then back to the man. “Yeah.”

     “I’m gonna kill you! I work too damn hard for some little brat to be pinching my meal!”

     The man drew his sword, and made his way toward Mathias. Mathias dodged around the table, nicking the last bit of pork as he did and darted out of the tent. Rain water splashed to the side as young Mathias’ foot planted in the ground tossing the water from the puddles. Was this stolen food really worth their effort? Shouts could be heard from behind as he dashed through the muddy fields. He knocked over some wicker stands as he rounded a corner. He nearly toppled over himself as the contents of the stand went spilling. But he was able to maintain his balance and continue sprinting.

     He knew that if he was caught that it would all be over. So this thought drove him to run faster, and faster. For all his speed, however, he could not lose his pursuers. Every corner he rounded, every shortcut he took, they were there after him. They were fit men, men that had run down their enemies many times before. So he had no hope of losing them.

     And it came to pass that he ran out of breath, he was too tired to go on. He collapsed to the ground, exhausted. His breath was so short and quick, and a stitch in his arm hurt. Mathias tried to crawl away, but his movements were labored.

     The men closed around him, encircling him. One of them, a man with a wolf’s pelt draped over his head stepped forward. He reached down and plucked the coin purse away from Mathias. Mathias would have tried to resist, but he was too weak, too out of breath to do anything.

     “You think you can steal from us, you little thief?”

     Mathias had no words. It was all he could do to catch his breath. The man kicked him in the ribs. Pain erupted through his abdomen, and he curled up, holding his side.

     “You really though you ccould steal from Gran’s army and get away with it, eh, you little brat?” He kicked Mathias again.

     Mathias could taste his own blood as he coughed it up into the mud. He closed his eyes, and he heard the sound of metal scraping against wood. One of them had drawn his sword, he knew. It was going to be over now, and there was nothing he could do. He didn’t want to open his eyes now. He was terrified.

     “I’m going to cut your tongue out and feed it to the dogs. I’d let you watch, but I’m gonna kill you. I hope you’ve said your prayers.” He placed his boot on Mathias’ chest, and pinned him to the ground, his sword poised to strike him dead.

     It was at that moment that Mathias heard a whistle, a catcall from nearby, probably one of the other men. Mathias felt the man remove his boot from his chest, and leaned up to look at what was going on.

     A woman in a white dress was walking on the road just a few feet away from them.

     “Well boys, I’m going to have something sweet to fuck tonight,” said the man that had pinned Mathias. He walked away and Mathias scrambled to his feet. He made to run, but one of the other men caught him by his tunic, and found he couldn’t resist against his superior strength.

     Mathias watched as the man in the wolf skin grabbed the woman by the wrist. As she turned and looked at him it was the first time that Mathias remembered seeing such striking blue eyes. A chill crept over him, the hairs on his arms stood up. There was some tangible energy in the air.

The man grabbing the woman’s wrist screamed out in pain. He released her, and clutched his head, still screaming in agony. Life seemed to move in slow motion as she gestured to him. His body was swept by some force and sent tumbling effortlessly into the wall of the building. There was a sickening crunch. Mathias heart skipped a beat.

She turned to Mathias, and the man next to him was sent flying as well. Mathias was dragged along with him, and was swept off of his feet, but he did not go anywhere. He felt something stop him from moving, and then he fell to the ground.

     The last man pulled an axe from his belt as if to attack. The woman turned her gaze to him. He dropped his axe, and began to frantically brush at his arms, his chest, and his legs. He fell to the ground.

     “I can’t—I can’t get them off, there’s so many of them. Help me, there’s too many spiders! She’s a witch, a witch!” He turned, clawing at the ground, and then fled, screaming.

     Mathias stood to his feet, and looked at this woman. She looked radiant, with her light brownish skin, a woman in her late twenties. But to Mathias she appeared as an angel dressed in white. She turned and began to walk away.

     Mathias scrambled to his feet and chased after her.

     “Wait,” he said. He grabbed her by the sleeve.

     She turned and smiled at him.

     “Where are you going?”

     “I am looking for someone.”

     “Can I go with you?”

     She smiled at him, and then let forth a small laugh. “Why would you want to go with me?”

     Mathias looked back at the village as the two of them continued to walk away. He walked backwards. “I think it would be better if I got out of here. They don’t treat children well here. You saw.”

     “How old are you?”

     “Thirteen.”

     She looked at him a moment. “I have a daughter about your age. I am Alcedes, what is your name?”

     “Mathias.”

     “Young Mathias, I do not know what you are looking for, but I suppose that you may travel along with me so long as you behave.”

     Mathias swallowed hard. “Thank you. You’re a witch, huh?”

“I suppose some would call me that.”

“You don’t, uh, turn your daughter into anything like a toad when she misbehaves, do you?”

Alcedes chuckled. “No, that would not solve anything, now would it?”

     The both of them walked on away from the muddy mess that the village had become. The rain continued to pour down, but seemed to go around Alcedes as though she was protected by some barrier that warded the rain away from her. Mathias stuck close to her so he could stay dry.

     “Who are you looking for?” he asked.

     “I have been on a pilgrimage for over a year. I have been trying to find someone named Illyra. She is very old, very wise. And I need to speak with her.”

     “So she’s an old woman, like a grandmother?”

     “No, not exactly. Legends tell she has been around since the beginning of the world.”

     “Since the beginning of the world? What? How is that even possible?”

     “It is not something that you need to worry about.”

     “What, because I’m a kid?”

     “No. I am just looking to find someone to tell me who I am. What I am supposed to do.”

     “I don’t understand what you’re talking about.”

     “I am a witch. There are others like me. No, not quite like me. Illyra will tell me what I need to know.”

     “So is this a quest?”

     “I suppose so.”

     “Great. I always wanted to go on a quest. Vanquish dragons, save princesses.”

     “You are just a boy. A common thief. I have seen others like you in my travels. There are no dragons to slay, no princesses to save. Only little boys that get in over their heads it seems.”

     Mathias winced. It was true. If not for the happy chance that Alcedes had passed by, he’d probably be dead.

     “There could be,” he said.

     “You are going to have to learn to look after yourself young Mathias. There is not always going to be someone out there to save you.”

     “You can teach me your witchcraft.”

     Alcedes chuckled. “No, son of Aeril, I cannot.”

     “Son of Aeril? You knew my father?”

     “No. You are a descendant of Aeril. My kin and I are descended from Beril. There is a difference you see. One of the lines was gifted with life, and the other with magic. You simply cannot use magic.”

     “That’s depressing. I’m going to have to learn how to use a sword then. I know. I can be a knight. So, where are all the dragons to slay? Certainly you’ve fought some before.”

     “Fiction. That’s all dragons have ever been. Although I do know someone that spends his time creating life. That is, to bring to life these things that have been dreamed up. Old myths and legends. No, I’m afraid the only adversaries I have ever faced have been men.”

     “That’s boring. I want to slay dragons, and impress others with my bravery. I’ll marry a princess after slaying a dragon.”

     Alcedes laughed again. “You dream big young Mathias. But I think it might take more than that to have a young woman fall in love with you.”

     The two of them reached a winding path up a hill. At the top of the hill was a fenced dwelling. A flower garden ringed the exterior.

     “I believe I have found my place,” Alcedes said. “Now mind you, Illyra is very old. Neither of us can imagine how old she is. You must be respectful of her.”

     The two of them walked up the path, and entered through a gate in the fence. As they entered the figure of a woman with gray hair and blue eyes walked into view from the side of the dwelling. She possessed gray hair, but she still looked as a youthful girl. A striking pendant hung about her neck, a blue gem with a faint light glimmering inside of it.

     “Good afternoon. Come inside. I put tea on. It is ready. Let us go enjoy it while it is still hot.”

     Mathias and Alcedes followed inside.

     “Come, get warm by the fireside. I know we have much to discuss for I have foreseen your arrival. I am who you seek, Alcedes.”

     “Oh great and wise one, Illy—“

     “Illyra is enough, Alcedes.”

     “Illyra, I came to you seeking an answer. I want to know what I am to do in this world with this great power of mine.”

     “Yes. They call you the reincarnation of Beril, do they not?”

     “They do.”

     Illyra looked at Alcedes a long moment. “Yes. You do remind me of him.” Illyra scratched her fingernails against the wood of the table lightly before curling her fingers up, balling her hand up into a fist, and clenching it. “I do not have fond memories of Beril.”

     Illyra poured some tea into three cups, and set them on the table. Everyone seated themselves. Mathias was lost at this point. He drank some of the tea. Though it was hot and warmed him up from the travels in the cold outside, he didn’t much care for the taste of it.

     “Your path is not easy. But I see that you and your descendants shall usher in an age of prosperity that shall continue for a great time. I see you shall confront King Gran, but he will not die by your hand.” Illyra turned her gaze to Mathias. “I see you have brought the one who will strike him down, however.”

     Mathias was taking another drink of the tea when he heard those words. He nearly choked on the tea, and then spit it back into the cup. He looked around in shock. Then he used his hand to point to himself. “You’re talking about me? Me? I’m going to kill King Gran?”

     “Yes,” said Illyra, “there is much you are going to have to do.”

     “Have you seen the size of that guy? I mean, his muscles. I’m just a kid. I steal bread when I’m hungry. I play pranks. I nearly died just before coming here. There’s no way I’m going to kill King Gran.”

     “It will be some years before that comes to pass, young Mathias.” Illyra paused. “I have a gift for you.”

     Illyra rose to her feet and pulled a scabbard with a sword sheathed in it from above the fireplace. She sauntered back over to the table and handed it to Mathias.

     “This is the sword that Aeril used to slay Beril. It is yours now.”

     Mathias took the scabbard and pulled the sword out of it. The blade was lustrous, and shined. It felt light in his hand and he felt lighter, and stronger. But he was fascinated by having a sword.

     “I crafted that in days of old for Aeril during the war of the gods as it is called.”

     “Anything else you can tell me about my future?”

     “You will have to decide which line to cross. One day you will have to do what you are told, or–”

     “Or what?”

     “That is for you to decide.”

     “How do you know these things?”

     “That is the reason for me to exist.”

     Now Mathias was completely lost. But the sword was nice. The lustrous metal shone even in the dim light of this dwelling. The hilt was made of something that Mathias couldn’t identify. There was a distinct hum let off by the blade as well. He placed it back in the scabbard and inserted it within his belt as he stood.

     “I have a gift for you too, Alcedes.” Illyra gripped the chain about her neck, and removed it, amulet and all. She let the amulet fall, the blue sparkling gem hanging in the air.

What is that? Mathias thought. He was fascinated by it, and wanted to grab it out of Illyra’s hand. Alcedes claimed it, however. She placed the amulet around her neck, and there it lay.

“That is the tear of Sephin Al-Memnon, the Creator. Sephin fled this world the moment Aeril slayed Beril. But he left this essence of his grief. I claimed it and have held it until this very day. It will grant you any wish that your heart may desire. I must warn you, however, that should you conjure up these ancient magics, on that very day you will be driven mad.”

Alcedes clutched the amulet. “For what reason would you give me this then?”

“It is not for you to worry about that, Alcedes. I have seen your future, I have seen the future of this world. And I have seen its past. I am not here to provide you understanding of these things. I am simply here to watch the world, and to record its events.”

Alcedes was quiet, and Mathias didn’t understand the cryptic words.

“Thank you, Illyra,” Alcedes said. “We will not take up any more of your time. Come Mathias, let us go.”

Mathias made his way to the door, and opened it, Alcedes followed. Before the two of them could leave though, Illyra spoke again.

“Alcedes,” she said, “for what it is worth, I am sorry.”

Mathias looked over his shoulder, and Alcedes turned to face Illyra.

“Pardon?” Alcedes asked.

“It is nothing. It is best that you be on your way.”

They said nothing more as they left the dwelling, and made their way back down the twisting path. Mathias followed along with Alcedes, not knowing where they were headed.

“She said I’d kill Gran. Did you hear that?”

“Yes, I did.”

Pride had filled Mathias. Gran had long made the kingdom suffer, and he knew that someday soon the suffering would be over. And it would be he that ended it. He’d be a hero.

“I’m going to be a hero, just like I wanted.”

“That you are.”

“Where are we going?”

“I am going home. I come from Poril Mari. If Illyra is correct then I must return there and convince the Council that we must intervene with Gran. I do not think that the boy hero should go alone. And why should you, a single child against all the armies of Gran. I am not sure that would end so well for you, Mathias.”

“How long is it going to take us to get there?”

“A few weeks. I do enjoy taking a walk.”

“You were on a pilgrimage before we met. Can you tell me about that?”

“It is not all that exciting. I have only been away for a year. Illyra has been very elusive. She is a skilled witch, but I knew I could find her, and I have. Before I came back here I had visited the Forest of Seasons in Sanria. It is quite a sight.”

“The Forest of Seasons? What is that?”

“To the unknowing it is a forest that seems to maintain its leaves in the same state all year round. It was created by Illyra herself ages ago to track the time of the world since creation until it is unmade. That is how I was ultimately able to find her, by acquainting myself with the way she utilizes magic.”

“That’s neat. I wish I could do that. So, what season is it in the forest?”

“Autumn.”

“And what does that mean?”

“Every season indicates a different age of this world. And it is said that it began in the spring.”

“So how much longer does the world have?”

“A common question. Not to worry. Illyra is said to be millions and millions of years old. That is why she is called the Keeper of Time. It is all recorded in a scroll in Poril Mari. It was written by Aeril, I think.”

Mathias didn’t have any more questions after that, and the two of them continued to walk. They headed east toward the sun. Before long he would arrive at the place called Poril Mari, and he would meet other witches, and wizards. He was ready for the adventure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment